Gifts of a different kind

My daughter has a gift.  That gift is called dyslexia.  Now some of you might think that’s crazy to call a learning disability a gift and I would be inclined to agree with you at times.  But I believe Annabelle is a gift and part of being Annabelle is being dyslexic.  The constant need to really understand things comes from her not being able to understand it the first time around.  She needs to get the finer complexities of things.  That takes time.  That takes a LOT of time.  And you know what?  That makes her understand whatever she is trying to wrap her head around better than most.  She gets it.  She remembers details and empathizes.  She feels a lot for people and animals and struggles.  And that is part of Annabelle’s gift, which is tied up in her being dyslexic.

I had an inner debate whether to blog about this or not.  On the one hand, I don’t blog much anymore.  I feel I don’t have the time and I’m tired at the end of the day.  There isn’t as much free time to photograph the fun things I do with my girls and often I get overwhelmed just thinking of how to write a tutorial on how to recreate what we’ve made.  And also – did Annabelle even want me to talk about it?  This is a sensitive subject for her right now.  I’d need her to read this before I published it.  What would she think?

On the other hand, one of the main reasons I stopped blogging so frequently was because my oldest daughter was diagnosed with dyslexia.  She wasn’t absorbing my time so much as was the schools, the fights with the schools, the worry, worry, worry over her not “fitting in” and the anxiety that produced – for both of us. This came to a head this year and we hired a tutor rather than fight the school.   And I see some of her struggles to understand as being part of her gift.  Her struggle makes her kinder, more understanding and sensitive to the injustice of others. And that’s a gift!

And it’s worked.  She’s doing better.  We also bought her a kindle and that helped too.  But she still struggles, it can be lonely for her at times as she feels like no one else has dyslexia.  I know there are other kids with dyslexia in her class, but they don’t talk about it.  Annabelle is a girl who NEEDS to talk.  She has always been a chitter-chatter kind of kid and she needs that outlet.  So she started a blog.  So she can talk about being her, being dyslexic, and find her peers who are willing to share their struggle or just stop by and read her story.

I hope you will read my daughters blog, follow it, comment and share it.  Annabelle is a bright, loving girl with a lot to say, a big heart and a strong moral compass and sense of justice.  She wants to help other kids and share her story.  I think this is a good start.  You can read her blog at 

http://annabellewhite.wordpress.com/

Thank you friends!

Peace,

Liz

ps. And maybe if she writes her own blog I’ll have the time to do more of my own!

3 thoughts on “Gifts of a different kind

  1. Liz, this is so beautifully written and I can feel the love you have for your beautiful, amazing, kind and wonderful daughter pouring out of every word. Dyslexia can make things really hard but with a mum like you I think Annabelle is going to be just fine. Sending you love across the miles. Jane xxxx

  2. Pingback: Personal Story: Disclosing LD in the Workplace | Learning Disabilities Information Site

Leave a Reply

