Mint Syrup tutorial

One thing about mint in the garden is that it kind of takes over.  The bad thing about this is that it can crowd your other plants, in a small garden like ours this can be a problem. The good thing is that mint is very tasty!

I make a nice Simple Syrup with the mint which you can use in Mojitos, Iced Tea, and slush (great with raspberries!).

Gather your mint and rinse if necessary.

Chop the mint.

The ratio to make syrup is like this,

1 1/2 cup chopped mint

1 cup water

1 cup sugar

Boil together for 5 minutes.

Strain solids and place into clean jars.  Mint syrup is good in the fridge for about 2 weeks.  You can also freeze it and use for drinks!

I had about 12 cups chopped mint which resulted in about six jars of syrup.

Check out some other great ideas over at Skip To My Lou for Made By You Monday!

One thought on “Mint Syrup tutorial

  1. Reblogged this on Liz Noonan and commented:

    I made this the other day and just remembered I wrote this tutorial in 2012, when we lived in a different home, with loads of mint! I can’t seem to get a good herb garden growing here but I’ll keep trying! One thing I did differently this time was I let the syrup sit, unstrained for a few hours, making it more “minty”. Feels like summer is slipping through my fingers, get it while you can friends!

Leave a Reply

