A special birthday

Millie at age 1

My second daughter, Millie is turning 5 today….I honestly cannot believe it.  Millie was born at lunchtime 5 years ago, a few things stand out in my mind about that day – how I was really afraid I was going to deliver in the car, it was like giving birth to a rocket ship (after the slow, 36 hour labor I had with my first) Millie was born in 3 1/2 hours.   How quiet she was when born, and the midwife and doctor were worried, but I just knew she was fine; how much I loved her from the start and how HUNGRY I was when the dust settled, and all I wanted to eat was broccoli.

Some things about her birth day make a lot of sense, she is quiet and lovely and smart and beautiful, she has no patience (this may be -ahem – a genetic trait I’m afraid) and that girl looooooves to eat – even broccoli.

Seen here eating the present Auntie Claire sent – a chocolate covered fruit basket

So here is a peek at what I made for my sandwich girl (I call her that because I tell her all the good stuff is in the middle, like her).

A camera case, complete with cupcake details – I bought the felt for this from Material Evidence Shop,(http://www.etsy.com/shop/materialevidenceshop) it’s real wool felt, which is pricey but to be honest, after working with the real deal I’ll never go back to craft felt, unless it’s to make some kind of enormous Halloween costume. The lavender trim is vintage blanket binding from my stash.  This was a pattern I made myself by simply measuring out what I thought I needed.


This is the first time in a long time I’ve done any embroidery and I can tell already I’m pretty hooked.

Here is the other side, I used a blanket stitch on the “M”, clearly I need more practice here….


And I lined it with soft flannel so the lens doesn’t get scratched by the felt, even tho the felt is really soft, I took  an extra measure to ensure that won’t happen.  I hope she likes her gift, it is so nice to make something special for my sweet girl.


5 thoughts on “A special birthday

  1. Hi Liz,
    Happy Birthday to your girl. I’m sure she’ll love her gift – The camera case looks great!! I love the handmade felt cupcake.
    Best,

    Marija

  2. Pingback: Another special birthday girl «

Leave a Reply

