Project #12, game time!

I had so many different ideas for the corks, cork wreath, cork door mat, cork alphabet stamp set, cork napkin rings, the list goes on and on.  But what I really wanted to do was just have some fun with the corks and draw upon how much Trisha makes me laugh.

So I looked at the corks.

And looked, and looked, and looked.  And felt a little dismayed, then looked some more.  Some were really beautiful – but how do you isolate something like that?  I’m sure there’s a way but I  have a time and funds limit here…

And they just seemed so – boring in a box but beautiful on their own.

And then I thought of pet rocks (I know, random thought process, it’s in my DNA as an artist).  You can buy some here on http://pet-rocks.com/ which is where I got this picture from.

And then I thought it would be cool to make a drinking game out of the corks – you know, to draw on the drinking thing.

So I did some research on games and stumbled upon the ancient game of Tafle.  It was played by Vikings.

Borrowed from Tafl, An Obsession below, offered the most direct summation of the rules.

The game is one of pure strategy, played on a square board. 

A king and a small force of defenders occupy the centre of the board.

A larger force of attackers, twice as numerous as the defenders, occupy positions around the edge of the board.

The objective of the king is to escape to the periphery of the board, while the objective of the attackers is to capture the king, preventing his escape.

The pieces move orthogonally, like rooks in chess, and capture is by surrounding a piece on two opposite sides.

There are minor variations on these rules, as the game was spread across northern Europe in an age before the printing and mass communication necessary for international standardisation. Each community developed its own “house rules”, and used a board and pieces appropriate to the materials they had to hand.

But what made me choose it is this excerpt from Wikipedia “What is that beast all girded with iron, which kills the flocks? He has eight horns but no head, and runs as he pleases.”[15] Here, it is the answer that is controversial, as the response has been variously translated as: “It is the húnn in hnefatafl. He has the name of a bear and runs when he is thrown;”

And I laughed until I cried after reading that.

And then – I made turkeys.

(This is the one that bit me, you may recall my “Ouch” post)

And they kind of look like Pet Rocks, who’ve been drinking.

 

Why turkey?  Because Trisha has a whole bunch of them who apparently think they live on her property and also she has a “Perfect Turkey” button on her wall oven, it only seems fitting  that they be turkey.

A “King”

(He has a pompadour but it’s hard to see from this angle)
Some “Jive Turkeys” as his “flock”

Isn’t it hilarious seeing them in the egg carton?  I cracked myself up for a while on that one.

And some quail – why quail?  Well – I just think they look like quail, and they also look like Beeker.

aaaand quail look a little feeble alone but scary as a pack of attack quail.

 

Aren’t those googly eyes getting to you?  It’s as if they are looking at me no matter which angle I shot at, it was a little alarming.

Recognize those tail and head feathers?  Those are the foil caps Trish collected, but didn’t know what to do with,

now they are turkey tail feathers and the distinct head feather of the quail.

And the size of this board stinks, but I am confident that Trisha has a much nicer, bigger board on which to play Tafl.  You have no idea what I had to do to get this board, it has it’s own ridiculous story but I’ll spare you the boring  details on that one.

 

The only hard and fast rule to this game is that you must be drinking while playing it – and the best part is that if you ever lose a game piece (and we all do) I know that Trisha has a boatload more to choose from.

Enjoy Trish!

*A note here to thank my husband, a brilliant chess player, whom without I would not have been able to figure out how many game pieces, or how many squares I needed for the game.  It’s good to be married to a smarty pants.

12 thoughts on “Project #12, game time!

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Project #12, game time! | liz noonan -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

